Nominees Maritime Innovation Award 2004


The jury of the Maritime Innovation Award has announced the nominated innovations for the Maritime Innovation Award 2004. On April 19th 2004 Dutch Minister of Transport Karla Peijs will reveal the overall winner and present the Award.

Based on the criteria suitability, its sales and export potential the jury had to select the nominees out of 16 entries. Once again the quality of the entries was very good, making it a difficult task. But in the end the jury nominated the following entries:

‘ChartPlanner – The ultimate voyage planning tool’
Datema Delfzijl BV

‘UniMACS Blue Line – Digital Integrated Bridge’
Imtech Marine & Offshore BV

‘Shoremaster – shore connection converter’
Imtech Marine & Offshore BV

The Award winning ceremony will be joined both by marine equipment suppliers as by high level representatives like ship owners, shipyards, government officials and offshore companies. Like last year the ceremony will feature an Innovation Market but is complemented with a Fundraising Dinner afterwards. Not only the winner of the Maritime Innovation Award, but also the winner of the Ballast Water Alternatives Contest, initiated by the Dutch Maritime Network, will be announced on April 19th.

The jury consists of ten prominent experts with maritime ‘roots’: ir. Hans Huisman (ER-Schifffahrt), professor Hans Klein Woud (Delft Technical University), Hans Walenkamp (former CEO Smit Internationale), professor Niko Wijnolst (Dutch Maritime Network), ir. Fred Weenig (ABN AMRO Bank), mr. drs. Louk Teunissen (Ministry of Economic affairs), drs. Reinoud Pijpers (Ministry of Transport), professor Jan Meek (Heerema/TU Delft), ir. Rob Wildschut (Koninklijk Niestern Sander BV) and Cdr. (ret.) Pim van Gulpen (chairman Holland Marine Equipment).

Earlier winners of the Maritime Innovation Award are Rubber Design BV with NoReTex (2001), Holvrieka-Nirota BV with Flexible Tank Modules (2002) and Novatug BV with Carrousel Tug (2002).

The Maritime Innovation Award is initiated to show the innovative power of the marine and offshore supply industry to a wide public. Furthermore the award aims at stimulating the innovative developments within the maritime cluster. This cluster initiative is supported by trade associations Holland Marine Equipment and IRO.

For further information about the entries or the programme of the award winning ceremony please contact Mrs Diana Mulder (with regard to the entries) or Mrs Linda te Veldhuis (with regard to the award winning ceremony) of Holland Marine Equipment (T: +31 (0)10 44 44 333 or E: [email protected] or [email protected]).

Bron: HME, 23-03-2004;